banner image
Gold Coast history and heritage

Discover how the City of Gold Coast is working to conserve and celebrate the rich and unique heritage of the Gold Coast.

National Relay Service for the hearing impaired Language translation services

Bilinga history

This image opens up in a popup window. To close this window please push the escape key on your keyboard.

Click to enlarge Bilinga Railway siding, circa 1923. Photographer unknown.

Bilinga Railway siding, circa 1923.
Photographer unknown.

Henzell's store at Bilinga, circa 1923. Photographer unknown.

Henzell's store at Bilinga, circa 1923.
Photographer unknown.

  1. Taken from a Yugambeh word Bilinba meaning bats.
  2. Gresty, J.A., The Numinbah Valley: Its Geography, History and Aboriginal Associations.

    Watson, F.E., Vocabularies of Four Representative Tribes of South East Queensland.

  3. Name of a peak on the McPherson Range. It was adopted by the Queensland Lands Department in 1918 as a place name for Crown land north of Coolangatta. The land was progressively auctioned after 1915.
  4. Kerr, John. Destination South Brisbane, p.45

Bilinga was located on the Nerang-Tweed Railway line and, after the Crown Land auctions, a rail siding was approved for the site in 1919.

By 1923 the nucleus of settlement had formed when Percy Henzel opened a general store near the rail siding.

By the late 1920s, the new coastal motor road improved access to the area for holiday makers and residents.

Information and images provided by the City of Gold Coast Local Studies Collection.

Related information

Jump to key information

ADVERTISEMENT