banner image
Gold Coast history and heritage

Discover how the City of Gold Coast is working to conserve and celebrate the rich and unique heritage of the Gold Coast.

National Relay Service for the hearing impaired Language translation services

Labrador history

Click to enlarge The opening of Labrador State Primary School, 1921. Photographer unknown.

The opening of Labrador State Primary
School, 1921. Photographer unknown.

Fish being cleaned and filleted at Labrador, circa 1930s. George A. Jackman, photographer.

Fish being cleaned and filleted at Labrador,
circa 1930s. George A. Jackman, photographer.

The Grand hotel, Deepwater Point, Labrador, circa 1894. Photographer unknown.

The Grand hotel, Deepwater Point, Labrador,
circa 1894. Photographer unknown.

In 1878, sugar planter Robert Muir and investor, John Lennon purchased 139 acres of crown land north of Southport.

The land overlooked the expanse of the Broadwater and was a good spot for fishing.

Dawn Rix, in her history of Labrador, writes that Robert Muir is believed to have named the area after the Labrador Peninsula, a large coastal fishery located in north eastern Canada.

Some time after 1881, Frederick Shaw, the General Manager of the Queensland Cobb & Co coach service, constructed a building which he called the Labrador Hotel.

In 1886, a much more elaborate building the Grand Hotel was constructed at nearby Deepwater Point.

The Labrador Hotel was destroyed by fire around 1888, but the name Labrador was perpetuated by landmarks such as Labrador Creek, a residence called Labrador House and eventually the Labrador State School that opened in 1921.

Information and images provided by the City of Gold Coast Local Studies Collection.

Sources of information and further reading

Hasemann Rix, Dawn Labrador; The early pioneers DHR Publishing, PO Box 659 Main Beach, Queensland 4217, 2002.

Related information

Jump to key information

ADVERTISEMENT