Mayor & Councillors

The Gold Coast council area is divided into 14 divisions.

Every four years local government elections are held. At these elections, voters from the Gold Coast elect the Mayor and choose a Councillor to represent their division.

Elected Councillors represent their community to advise Council on decisions that may impact their division.

To find out which division your property is in, use the map on our Divisional boundaries page to search for the property address.

Mayor Tom Tate


  • Phone: 07 5581 5283
  • Email:
  • ProfileTom Tate has been Mayor of the Gold Coast since first being elected in 2012. He was re-elected in 2016, 2020 and again in 2024.

Cr Mark Hammel

Division 1 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 6754
  • Mobile: 0417 219 025
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Mark Hammel represents Division 1, which covers the suburbs of Alberton, Cedar Creek, Gilberton, Jacobs Well, Kingsholme, Luscombe, Norwell, Ormeau, Ormeau Hills, Pimpama, Southern Moreton Bay Islands, Stapylton, Steiglitz, Woongoolba and Yatala.

Cr Naomi Fowler

Division 2 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5582 8555
  • Mobile: 0482 131 243
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Naomi Fowler serves the people of Division 2 (Oxenford, Helensvale, and Hope Island).
    Naomi is an experienced leader with a business background and is committed to advocating for the needs of her community. Naomi is passionate about improving local roads, tackling congestion, boosting safety, and supporting grassroots community initiatives.

Cr Donna Gates (Deputy Mayor)

Division 3 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 6598
  • Mobile: 0424 778 999
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Donna Gates serves the people of Division 3 and has been the City’s Deputy Mayor since 2012. Cr Gates is an experienced representative who knows the northern Gold Coast intimately.

Cr Shelley Curtis

Division 4 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 1680
  • Email:
  • ProfileShelley Curtis is a long-term Division 4 resident, born and raised in Paradise Point. Before her appointment she had served our country in the Australian Army for almost 20 years.

Cr Peter Young

Division 5 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5582 8400
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Peter Young serves the people of Division 5. He is driven to deliver projects and outcomes that benefit local communities and the future of the city, and to protect our way of life.

Cr Brooke Patterson

Division 6 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 6280
  • Email:
  • ProfileCr Brooke Patterson GAICD was elected to Council in 2020 after an international career in financial services and decades of community service. Representing Southport, Benowa, Bundall, Chirn Park and Ashmore, her priorities include enhancing the CBD, greening the city, raising public safety, ensuring utmost transparency, and bettering our roads, parks and footpaths.

Cr Bob La Castra

Division 8 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5582 8206
  • Mobile: 0414 180 008
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Bob La Castra represents Division 8. Cr La Castra was elected to the City of Gold Coast in 1997. With a long history in the arts and entertainment, and as a former board member of Destination Gold Coast, he Chairs the Economy, Tourism and Events Committee.

Cr Glenn Tozer

Division 9 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 1883
  • Mobile: 0419 558 685
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Glenn Tozer was elected to the City of Gold Coast in 2012 and serves the community of Division 9 that includes Mudgeeraba, Reedy Creek, Gilston and others, as well as all of Springbrook National Park. He is appointed to the Economy, Tourism and Events Committee, the Transport & Infrastructure Committee, and as Chairperson for the Lifestyle, Environment, Heritage & Resilience Committee.

Cr Darren Taylor

Division 10 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 6171
  • Mobile: 0416 599 374
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Darren Taylor serves the people of Division 10. He is committed to building the economic fortunes and business confidence of our beautiful city. Cr Taylor was elected to the City of Gold Coast in 2020. Cr Taylor’s office is in Bundall.

Cr Dan Doran

Division 11 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 7282
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Dan Doran serves the people of Division 11 which includes Robina, Varsity Lakes and parts of Burleigh Waters. Cr Dan Doran was elected to the City of Gold Coast in 2024. He is appointed Deputy Chair of the Planning and Regulation Committee and serves on the Lifestyle, Environment, Heritage & Resilience Committee and the Waste, Water & Energy Committee. Cr Doran's office is in Robina.

Cr Gail O'Neill

Division 14 Councillor

  • Phone: 07 5581 5275
  • Mobile: 0438 810 023
  • Email:
  • ProfileCouncillor Gail O'Neill serves the residents of Division 14. She is a strong and experienced representative who understands the importance of the preservation of our beaches and hinterland, whilst striking a balance with good, sustainable development and economic stability for local business.