City of Gold Coast

Navigation Search

Kanagawa Prefecture

Kanagawa Prefecture is located in the south-east of Honshu. It lies between Tokyo, the foothills of Mt Fuji, the Pacific Ocean and Tokyo Bay. Within the prefecture there are 19 cities and 14 villages. The capital of the prefecture is Yokohama. The Gold Coast has a Friendship Agreement with the 13 municipalities along the Sagami Bay, and the relationship is founded on a significant interest in beach culture by the residents of both regions.

Discover Kanagawa

Kanagawa Prefecture has something for everyone, from city life to natural scenery, beaches and temples. For beach lovers, Kanagawa has many islands to discover including Enoshima, Jogashima and Sarushima. For a taste of city life, you can’t go past Yokohama - just 45 minutes from Tokyo with a bustling nightlife and beautiful landscapes. For culture lovers, head to Kakone where you can view Mt Fuji and the Fuji Five Lakes and soak in a traditional Japanese onsen at one of the many ryokans.

Visit Kanagawa Travel to find out more.

Click to enlarge

Related information

Back  Return to top