banner image
Celebrate the spirit of our community

City of Gold Coast proudly presents many events, award programs and recognitions throughout the year.

National Relay Service for the hearing impaired Language translation services

John Franklin Memorial Fellowship

John Franklin

Samuel John Franklin
Albert Shire Councillor 1982-1993

The John Franklin Memorial Fellowship Trust was established in memory of Councillor John Franklin who passed away in April 1993. The Trust commemorates John's love of life and his untiring involvement in the local community.

The John Franklin Memorial Fellowship is offered annually to enable young people to:

  • undertake study or research
  • obtain relevant experience; or
  • progress an academic, cultural, vocational or sporting project.

Applications are open to young people 21 years or younger. Applicants must:

  • reside in Mudgeeraba or the surrounding area; or
  • attend school (or other educational institution) in Mudgeeraba or the surrounding area.

2021 Fellowship now open

The 2021 John Franklin Memorial Fellowship is now open. Eligible applicants can complete the application form below and return by email or post by Friday 19 March 2021.

Download the 2021 Fellowship application form


For more information please contact Safe and Liveable Communities Branch on 07 5581 6642 or

Past recipients

The Fellowship was first awarded in 1994. The John Franklin Memorial Fellowship has been awarded to the following recipients:

  • 1994  L Gotley
  • 1995  V Warrener
  • 1996  S Donoghue, M Park
  • 1997  S Hurford
  • 1998  S Tandy, T Malouf
  • 1999  K Christensen, S Stanton-Cook
  • 2000  J Costello,
  • 2001 T Davis
  • 2002  J Rofe
  • 2003  B Benjamin, D Cruickshank
  • 2004  T Solano
  • 2005  K McKean
  • 2006  J Dickson, T King
  • 2007  J Rogers, J Thomsen
  • 2008  N Dickson, A Gibson
  • 2009  P O'Flaherty, M McAllister
  • 2010 P Baker, K Swift
  • 2011 O Whitt, K Baker
  • 2012 O Lucas, S Deegan, R Johnson
  • 2013 H Halford-Smith, N Pasricha
  • 2014 A Ewart
  • 2015 J Hickey, G Miller
  • 2016 J McRae, K Shultz
  • 2017 A Reardon, E Lockley
  • 2018 K Plume, F Miller
  • 2019 W South, M Jones
  • 2020 J Wood, K Miller

Related information

Jump to key information


Top of page Top of page